Phantom 3 Standard - first impressions
1926 17 2015-8-16
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
squidlyboy
lvl.1

United States

I'm a complete noob when it comes to drones, and i got this drone so that i can take video of our Dragonboat Crew practices.  We've had boats come along side of us during practices before shooting video, but you can only get one side at a time.  This drone will allow aerial shots of the whole boat like we've never done before.  That was my only reason to get this.  When i first started to look at drones, i was overwhelmed with how many models there were, but when i stumbled upon the Youtube video that showed the DJI Go App, i was like WHOA, this is the one i'm getting.  I was looking at the Phantom 3 Professional at the time.  A day later, the Standard was announced.  I quickly reviewed the specs as best i could find (wish DJI would have put up a comparison table/matrix to make things easier), but given that it was like $400 less, it was a no brainer to get the Phantom 3 Standard.

The out-of-box experience was less than stellar.  The DJI Go app was not ready for the P3S when it was shipped.  I think whoever made the decision to ship on that date was thinking the app was going to be there by the time the drones got to customer's.  It wasn't.  For first time customers of DJI, the surprise of having this big expensive sophisticated piece of modern technology act as a big paper weight was not amusing at all.  Way to give a first impression.   Some people said that it was Apple's AppStore's fault for delaying the release of it, but i don't buy it.  I mean the app is also available for download from DJI's website, so they had full control of that situation.  Someone at DJI just made a calculated risk that everything would come together at the right time, but it didn't.