How can I know where to fly
2161 11 2023-2-18
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
RobSue
lvl.1
Flight distance : 212999 ft
Australia

I am a total newbie, who has recently purchased a DJI Mini 3 Pro with RC controller. I live in Western Australia.
I would like to know where I can fly before I unpack the unit. I tried the "Ok To Fly" app and it gives the info I need, but it does not appear to be aligned with the device. I live within 5.5 kms of an airport with a control tower, so most of the time the "Ok To Fly" app says I can't fly here, but last night it said I could with some restrictions because the control tower was closed, so I went out and tried to take off but the device wouldn't take off because I was in an unauthorised area.

Can anyone tell me where I can find out where I can fly my device, before I unpack and connect?

Thanks

Rob

2023-2-18
Use props
BodkinsBestPhotography
lvl.2

Canada

The remote itself should have a "flyspots" icon in the top right hand of the starting screen.  Click on it and it will tell you where the restricted (red = can't fly) zones are, and all the other (blue = request permission) zones.  
2023-2-18
Use props
DJI Gamora
Administrator

Hi, Rob. Thank you for reaching out. You may check the Geo Zone Map before going to the place to fly the drone. The DJI’s GEO System delineates where it is safe to fly, where flight may raise concerns, and where flight is restricted. Here's the link: (https://www.dji.com/flysafe/geo-map). If you need to request to Unlock an Authorization Zone, you may check here the instructions (https://forum.dji.com/forum.php? ... 83&extra=page=1). We hope this helps. Thank you for your support.
2023-2-19
Use props
DAFlys
Captain
Flight distance : 312090263 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

This site should help - https://remoteaviation.com.au/casa-drone-laws/
2023-2-19
Use props
RobSue
lvl.1
Australia

Thanks. 3 excellent references. Appreciate your guidance.
2023-2-19
Use props
DJI Gamora
Administrator