Figuring height above ground
704 4 2023-4-25
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Zanetia59
lvl.1
Flight distance : 81870 ft
United States

I’m a drone newbie.  I live in a mountainous part of the US.  I’ve been setting up waypoint flights for my Mavic 3 using the DJI maps but cross referencing to Gaia topos for accurate elevations.  

I’m hoping someone can explain how the drone figures height above ground.  For example when I fly it over the edge of a cliff it maintains the same altitude even though distance to ground is now several hundred feet lower.  Yet when it returns to home on the cliff it achieves the preset RTH altitude above the height of the cliff.  Is this all GPS or does the drone “memorize” map contours as well?
2023-4-25
Use props
DAFlys
Captain
Flight distance : 312090263 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

The drone only knows its altitude relative to where you took off.  If you fly off a cliff it will report the same height which will be wrong.  
2023-4-26
Use props
Blériot53
Captain
Flight distance : 6188465 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

As @DAFlys points out, the drone height displayed on your RC is always relative to the take-off point, regardless of what terrain it flies over.
If you want to pre-program the drone to fly a mission whilst remaining at a constant height (say, 50 metres) relative to the terrain over which it flies, the programming needs set each waypoint as Relative-to-Ground. This can be done with certain third-party Apps. Whether this can be achieved with DJI Fly or DJI Go4 Apps,  I've never had occasion to find out. Have a look in the manual, or wait for one of the more experienced forum members to comment.
If you want to investigate further, one such app is Litchi. And there's a very good tutorial video from a satisfied user here:

2023-4-26
Use props
Zanetia59
lvl.1
Flight distance : 81870 ft
United States

Blériot53 Posted at 4-26 10:49