DJI mini 3 pro front left stiff motor
5964 15 2023-5-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
djiuser_lzpB4pvZYzG4
lvl.1

United States

I'm new to drones and purchased my DJI Mini 3 Pro approximately 11 days ago.  Yesterday I noticed that the front left propeller motor is stiff and I am unable to fly the drone due to a stuck motor message (did not crash or taken it out to the beach etc, just normal flying in my neighborhood).  I've watched a few videos on youtube on how to fix it with aircans, alcohol, etc.  Can someone chime in on how to properly troubleshoot this issue since it appears to be occuring to others by just reading the comments from the video.  I don't have an issue returning to DJI for repair since I did pay for the DJI Care but if I can avoid having to ship it back and waiting weeks that would be awesome.  
2023-5-28
Use props
Sean-bumble-bee
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 15997 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

DO NOT wash the motor with solvent, I fear you would damage the lubrication of the motor. A vacuum cleaner or air can would be my approach.
If you have not caused the problem and if you return it, why opt to waste a CareRefresh on it? Ask DJI assess it with a warranty claim in mind. They will almost certainly let you know if it is otherwise, then you can decide what to do.

2023-5-28
Use props
Aurgelme
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1657 ft
Norway

Have had the same problem with a stuck motor on a brand new drone, first attempt at take off.
Used thin special oil for small ball bearings mixed with isopropanol. A drop on the ball bearing protection plate top, and it found its way into the ball bearing. An hour later, the ball bearing had come loose.

Dji demanded to have the drone inspected, so I sent it in to Dji service and it was confirmed that everything was fine and a decent way to fix this problem.
Had no problems afterwards.

2023-5-28
Use props
djiuser_lzpB4pvZYzG4
lvl.1

United States

Sean-bumble-bee Posted at 5-28 13:02