1556 13 2023-7-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Alitz
lvl.1
Flight distance : 89925 ft
United States

Hello fellow pilots!

I have been a happy mini 3 pro pilot since 2 days ago until I found that my DJI RC with screen stopped to play certain audio. There is no voice assistance sound and no sound when I interact with UI, play the video in the Academy, or play edited video from the Album. However, the beeping still works. How weird, since the beep comes out from the same speaker.

I have double-confirmed that the remote is on the latest firmware, my volume setting is non-zero and the mute button is not activated. I have also tried factory resetting the RC and still no luck. Searching through the forum, I found that there are lots of incidents with similar issues, and most pilots ended up sending in the RC for a replacement:
  • https://forum.dji.com/thread-283618-1-1.html
  • https://forum.dji.com/thread-288044-1-1.html
  • https://forum.dji.com/thread-267307-1-1.html

The good news is, just before I was about to contact support for a replacement, after tinkering for an hour, I figured out a fix for the issue. Sharing the mitigation steps with fellow pilots:
  • activate the mute button
  • power-off the RC
  • power-on the RC
  • deactivate the mute button, you should notice that the volume is not restored to its previous value and is now at 0%
  • set volume to 50%
  • play a video from the academy
  • the video should have sound after a few seconds. Feel free to set the volume to any value now

The aforementioned steps helped me get back the sound of the RC (twice!). IMO this looks like a bug in the firmware and I could not recall how I hit it.
Hope this trick also works for you!

2023-7-15
Use props
DJI Gamora
Administrator

Hi, Alitz. Thank you for sharing your resolution. This sure will help other users whose having the same issue. Have a safe flight always!
2023-7-16
Use props
Mike Roop
lvl.1

United States

DJI Gamora Posted at 7-16 00:24