The single real problem with Osmo Action 3
2936 25 2023-8-13
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Ulysses
lvl.4
Flight distance : 573310 ft
Brazil

I work with video creation for a living. TV commercials, corporate videos, social media, etc. After some time with my Action 3, I can see what is the real problem with this camera. We know the ergonomics and design stuff, all good. The sensor is a very good one considering its size. But the biggest problem the camera faces is its compression. It can suppass GoPro 11 with a better compression. Many times it seems faces are particularly mushed out, which makes it seem like an out of focus issue (which does exist, I am on my second unit and it is fine but the previous one was not). So, if DJI could make a better compression algorithm for the Action 3 (maybe a more direct and less complex one) and give us the option to select sharpness and noise reduction like the Action 4, I would certainly stick to the Action 5 (the Action 4 is a better camera but I just bought my action 3).
So, DJI, please refine your compression algorithm and give us the option to select sharpness and noise reduction in the next firmware upgrade and this camera will be perfect.
2023-8-13
Use props
Fishycomics
First Officer
United States

The fix was doing parameters they say and sure the y corrected it wit hte Action 4   no more firmware its done and over
2023-8-13
Use props
Andreas Dueck
Second Officer
Switzerland

Fishycomics Posted at 8-13 10:34
The fix was doing parameters they say and sure the y corrected it wit hte Action 4   no more firmware its done and over

I don't think DJI can leave the Osmo Action 3 as it is, it's important for the reputation that the Osmo Action 3 will be further refined even if the new baby is the Osmo Action 4..
2023-8-13
Use props
johansenfoto
First Officer
Flight distance : 1173379 ft
  • >>>
Norway

If they go the gopro way, they will give a big F in previous versions like OA3.