Wind calm but Phantom 3 can't hold position
5641 17 2015-8-31
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
texmaster
lvl.1

United States

Hi folks,

Now I'm very new to this, only taken it up a few times and the longest being about 10 minutes but I took it up a few days ago in wind registering less than 10 mph but once it got up to about 150 feet it was being blown off course so much I brought it down again.   What I mean is that it would not remain stationary and I had to manually correct.

Please let me know if I'm doing something wrong or any tips you may have.    Video below.

2015-8-31
Use props
DJI-Tim
DJI team

Hong Kong

make sure you are in gps mode. how many satellites do you get?
2015-8-31
Use props
texmaster
lvl.1

United States

DJI-Tim Posted at 2015-9-1 14:34
make sure you are in gps mode. how many satellites do you get?

18 is what it said.
2015-8-31
Use props
sploodge
Second Officer
Flight distance : 809350 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

Looks like you are in Atti or with a seriously bad IMU csalibration.. The little switch on the front of the controller, was it in P, A or F mode? Should be in P for GPS assisted flight.
paf.jpg
2015-8-31
Use props
texmaster
lvl.1

sploodge Posted at 2015-9-1 15:25
Looks like you are in Atti or with a seriously bad IMU csalibration.. The little switch on the front ...

Its a great question because I don't know for sure.   I will be sure to check that thanks.

I did fly it today but did not check this setting and found a new issue.   Basically it would fly out about 100 feet from me but refused to go any further  No problem with elevation however.   It was really bright but I didn't see a problem on the tablet and no verbal warning.    If this switch was in the wrong position would it cause this problem too?
2015-9-1
Use props
rayrokni
Second Officer
Flight distance : 8139875 ft
United States

texmaster Posted at 2015-9-2 02:26
Its a great question because I don't know for sure.   I will be sure to check that thanks.