Filming in 30 and 60 fps, and slowmotion
1725 1 2023-9-4
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Koensol
lvl.2
Netherlands

Hello all,
In about 6 weeks I will be leaving for a year long travelling expedition across the world and I've bought myself a dji osmo action 3 with a load of mounts, with the idea of filming some nice scenes. Since I am pretty new to filming/action cameras I have been reading a lot about the camera, filming techniques, recommended settings and video editing. My plan is to record many different kind of clips and in the end compile it into some sort of 'aftermovie' using Davinci Resolve. So there will be high action footage, like mountainbiking, motorbiking, etc and more relaxed footage like hiking, snorkling, landscapes, city scenery, etc.

So far I've decided I want to film most of it in 4k 30 fps, except for some scenes that I'd like to have in slow motion, which are recommended to be filmed in 60 fps / 120 fps. So this is where some questions started to arise. I know there is a slowmotion mode on the osmo action 3, with the option to go 4x or 8x. But I also know there is an option to drag your clips out in the video editor, creating a slowmotion effect that way.
Question 1. What is the difference between these 2 methods, and which is generally recommended for the best results / quality of life?
Question 2. If I'd use the osmo action 3 slowmotion mode, in how much fps is that filmed and can I safely choose 4k?