1708 31 2023-9-16
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fansbb4da246
lvl.1
Flight distance : 303428 ft
  • >>>
Saint Martin

About two months ago, I took a flight with my brand-new Mavic 3 Pro. The drone had approximately 2 hours of flight time. I am an experienced pilot, having flown DJI drones since the F550, and I've owned all Phantom and Mavic models. I even flew near the North Pole where the compass wasn't functioning correctly. I own a boat charter company and fly from my boat about four times per week for my business, so I have a significant amount of experience in various flying conditions.
Here's some context and information about my experience.
I was on my powerboat (which has no mast) and took off as usual. Everything seemed fine with the drone, no obstacles in sight, and I was flying over the ocean.
However, when I reached my flying altitude of about 10 meters, I received an error message indicating a "Sensor error." The drone suddenly drifted rapidly to the right and plunged into the sea. It felt like it dropped like a stone for no apparent reason. It was a frustrating experience with my brand-new Mavic 3 Pro turning into a swimming lesson.
There was nothing I could have done to prevent it. I managed to retrieve the drone from underwater after a few minutes, but due to the saltwater exposure, both the drone and the battery were irreparably damaged.
Fortunately, the drone is still covered by DJI warranty.
Immediately after takeoff, the drone displayed the following errors (error codes: 16010010, 1601002F, 16010041), and then it plummeted into the water.
I subsequently sent the drone to the DJI Europe repair center, and after some initial difficulties, they finally received it and conducted an analysis.