Mavic Air 2 - EU C class: which and when?
123Next >
6510 85 2023-12-10
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
carlotaglia
lvl.1

Italy

Hi everyone

I'm an Italian UAS operator, profesisonal videomaker and enthusiastic owner of a Mavic Air 2.
For sure many of you are aware of the new EU regulations about UAS from January 1, 2024, that force operators to fly with EASA C classified drones.

Still the Air 2 was not officially assigned with a C class, instead of other models, meaning that it could be used only in an A3 flying context.
Also, Dji never updated Air 2 RID compatibility with EU standards.

Are these updates going to be released or am I forced to buy a new drone?
Since years I'm a DJI user with Ronin gimbals and I'd be very disappointed if a 2 years old drone had to be considered as obsolete.

Thank you!
2023-12-10
Use props
DAFlys
Captain
Flight distance : 312090263 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

It's unlikely to be able to get a C classification as it doesnt have the softer propellors required.
2023-12-11
Use props
carlotaglia
lvl.1

Italy

DAFlys Posted at 12-11 23:27
It's unlikely to be able to get a C classification as it doesnt have the softer propellors required.

What do you mean with "softer propellors"?
If I had to find a solution under no commercial/marketing perspective, I would force Mavic Air 2 owners to buy new specifica propellors in compliance with C classification requirements, instead of a new drone.

After all, in case of an accident I don't believe there could be that difference to be hit in sensible areas (like head/face) by a drone with standard plastic propellers or "softer" propellers.

However, thank you for you answer
2023-12-12
Use props
DJI Tony
Administrator