Moving from an Air 2S to the M3P for photography.
552 10 2023-12-12
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Antsl
lvl.1

Australia

Hi All,

I am a professional photographer and over the past couple of years I have been using the Air 2s to shoot stills with good results (its not a Nikon D850 but it works).
I am giving thought to moving up to a bigger drone (in the under 2Kg class) and I am wondering if anyone on this forum can tell me their experience between shooting stills on the Air 2s and the newer Mavic 3 Pro.

More specifically, I am wondering if there is much visual difference in the RAW file between the two drones at the 24mm setting.
The image below is typical of some of my work... this was shot half an hour after sunset with a 1/2 second exposure.

cheers, Ants

BMW_August2022-Version_2_For_Web.jpg
2023-12-12
Use props
jmb63
Second Officer
Flight distance : 7009439 ft
  • >>>
United States

I have upgraded from the Air2s to the Mavic 3 Pro and without knowing exactly what aspects of the raw files you are primarily interested in, I can give a few general comments regarding the differences/improvements I have found.
(I primarily use DxO PhotoLab for post-processing so I refer to my experience using that program with the 3Ppro.. It has profiles for each of the 3 cameras so it does do some tweaking automatically that helps)
The main camera has a marked improvement in dynamic range and MUCH better low-light sensitivity (as expected with a larger sensor). I find that there is more "wiggle-room" in the Mavic 3 Pro camera files.
The color seems more accurate and the white balance is mostly very close to what I like even while on AWB
The adjustable aperture adds that flexibility as needed.
The auto-focus (when used since I find myself on manual (infinity) most of the time) is smoother and more accurate.