Newbie question about altitude & limits
1034 7 2023-12-27
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Treb
lvl.2
United States

I'm new to flying drones, and I see that the software has an altitude limit one can set, and that some places have legal altitude limits, and the drone has a mechanical altitude limit, as well as potential issues with wind, signal reception, and/or not being able to see the ground well.

I am curious:

1) are those altitudes all above ground level (AGL), or above sea level (ASL)? (I think it must be above ground level?) Or are some AGL and some ASL?

(For example, if I'm at 1000 feet ASL, and set the max altitude to 2000 feet, it should go up to 3000 ASL, right?)

2) If the programmed limits are above ground level, what happens when flying over significant hills?
(For example, if I start at 1000 feet ASL, set the return home altitude to 300 feet, and then fly it up a hill to a point where the ground level is 1200 feet, and tell it to return home, will it rise to 1300 feet ASL to return home, or will it rise to 1500 feet to return home, and will it fly home at a constant altitude, or will it adjust to try to be the same height above the ground on the way back?)

3) Are there things I should be worried about, and/or guidelines for what should be a perfectly safe altitude to fly at (assuming weather is good and not windy), starting out at say 1000 or more feet ASL? I'm not sure how safe it is to fly how high.

Sorry if this is a bit of a complex question, and thanks in advance for any tips or info about this.

2023-12-27
Use props
Labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

1) are those altitudes all above ground level (AGL), or above sea level (ASL)? (I think it must be above ground level?) Or are some AGL and some ASL?
All regulations are based on the height of the drone above the ground below it.