Flying in strong windws
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
FireHawk
lvl.1
Flight distance : 285758 ft
United States

I was in northern Michian last weekend and went to video a Lighthouse (Grand Traverse) and encountered strong winds.  I am new to flying and have not flown in strong winds.

Below is a recording of my flight (very short).  At around :30 into the flight my P3A gets carried off by the winds.  It did not get far and reined it bac in quickly.  I was flying in a semi crowded area and there were considerable obstacles.  I planed to be above the tree line but when the gust took off with my P3A so suddenly, I scartched the flight.  

I was curious as to what techniques do people use when flying in strong winds and what do you consider too strong of wind to fly.  I checked the weather reports for that day and winds were recorded as 8 MPH with a max of 14 MPH and gusts at 20 MPH.  

Thanks,
2015-9-10
Use props
FireHawk
lvl.1
Flight distance : 285758 ft
United States

just noticed my title.  Winds not windws.  I guess you can tell what OS I use.
2015-9-10
Use props
1320frank
lvl.2
Flight distance : 2624856 ft
United States