Question about RTH
547 19 2-17 01:27
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
J Hawk
lvl.2
Flight distance : 20600 ft

United States

I'm a complete newbie to drones, so if this is a dumb question, please be kind.
Let's say I'm at sea level, and I take my M4P up to 400 feet, I fly over a hill which is 300 feet high, and I have a RTH occur. My settings are to go to 200 feet upon RTH. Since the drone is over a 300 foot hill, what will it do?

2-17 01:27
Use props
DAFlys
Captain
Flight distance : 312090263 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

The drone will return home at the current altitude of 400ft,   all altitudes the drone understands are related to take off point.      The drone will not drop to the RTH altitude only climb to it if it's lower.  
2-17 01:59
Use props
_SoP_
Second Officer
Flight distance : 951020 ft
  • >>>
Germany

If you lower the drone to below 300 feet after flying over the hill it will crash into that one. If the drone stays higher than 300 feet it will RTH at that height.
2-17 02:30
Use props
No Original Thought
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1364209 ft
United Kingdom

Always set the RTH height to higher than any obstacles.

In this case if the hill is 300ft higher than your take off position then set RTH height to around 350ft (to allow for trees etc and a safety margin).

As others have said, if the drone is higher than that 350ft when RTH starts it will not descend but will return at current height. If it is lower than the 350ft AND further than 20m horizontally from your take off point then it will climb to 350ft before heading home.

Note also that if the RTH is because of loss of signal, the aircraft will retrace part of it's flown course (I don't remember how much - 50m maybe?) to try to regain signal before returning.