Osmo Pocket 3/Mini 4 Pro Color Grading in Davinci
297 4 5-1 15:18
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fansd8e9e4fe
lvl.1
  • >>>
United States

I'll start by saying that I am relatively new to color grading, so apologies if this seems trivial.

My primary cameras are:
* DJI Pocket 3
* DJI Mini 4 Pro

I am trying to set up a workflow to make color grading easy. Ideally my work flow in Davinci 19 would look something like:
Noise Reduction->Primaries->Power Windows->Film Look Creator

The challenge I'm having is understand:
1. Should I use Dlog-m or HLG?
2. Is the rest of my workflow set up correctly?

Dlogm vs HLG
I've read a lot of threads that state Dlog M is actually not as wide of a color space as HLG. Most tools have trouble interpreting it correctly as well. I don't actually care which one I use, I'd just like the easiest for my workflow with the best results.

Workflow Setup

Project settings I use:
Color Science = Davinci YRGB Color Managed
Color Processing Mode = HDR DaVinci Wide Gamut Intermediate
Output Colour Space = Rec.709 (Scene)

I've heard in many tutorials that doing your processing in HDR DaVinci Wide Gamut provides the greatest flexibility in color correction. If that's incorrect, please educate me.

If I drag a clip into my timeline and then go to input color space on the clip, I get:
Dlog M = Rec.709
HLG = Rec.2100HLG

I've read many posts about people trying to use dlog/dgamut for DlogM and have gotten poor results. I've also read that HLG is supposed to be rec.2020 but is read as rec.2100 instead. Are these correct? Should I change them to something else?

Now for color grading:
  • To make the most out of the Davinci Wide Gamut color space during my editing do I need to start with a color transform or is that already done since resolve identified the input color space and my processing mode is set to Davinci Wide Gamut?