1720 11 2015-10-1
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Czyka
lvl.4
Flight distance : 3784321 ft
  • >>>
United States

I've got my first paying gig shooting a private school.  I'm not exactly sure what they want but they describe a virtual tour of their 50 acre campus.  We have not discussed details but I presume I will shoot about an hour of footage and edit down to a few minutes.  I am an experienced operator and editor.  I recently released a one minute compilation to Facebook that had an amazing 20,000 views in 4 days that is responsible for leading the client to me.

My question is how do I get paid?  I mean should a charge them a flat rate and if so what is reasonable?  What is a reasonable hourly rate for shooting?  Editing?  And also, is there a way I could charge them on a per view basis?  Is anyone doing that?

Thanks for any input.

2015-10-1
Use props
jimhare
lvl.4
Flight distance : 239035 ft
Australia

Congrats!   Do you have your exemption in place so you can legally charge for your service?

I generally charge a flat rate for my total service.  It makes things simple and takes away false comparison with other operators.

For example, there is no point in saying "I'm $150 and hour" since your work may be better or not as good as someone else charging the same.   

Ultimately it comes down to the perceived value of the end result.   There are videos I would happily pay $10,000 to acquire and also those I wouldn't give $50 for.

Decide what yours is worth and charge that.   
2015-10-2
Use props
pidetectives
lvl.4
Flight distance : 2131073 ft
  • >>>
United States

I do real estate video and a charge a flat fee make things easier
2015-10-2
Use props
alan
lvl.2

United States