P3 Professional - Current Bitrate for 4K Video Encoding Not Adequate
8214 9 2015-10-25
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
pilalitos
lvl.1

Greece

I decided to start a new thread on the issue of P3pro's problematic videoencoding quality as i am totaly surprised there isn't one already!
My background is film and video production so the view i will express here is of someone who decided to purchase the Phantom 3 Pro for professional work and not for hobby. This drone is an excellent piece of equipment. I believe that after 3-4 hours of flying, most owners will be able to shoot what they need for work. But let's talk about the video now.

We used the drone for a project that required many days of shooting aerials in the countryside. During that project we realised that the 60 Mbit/s budget for 4K/25fps footage is just not enough. When shooting scenery with high frequecy details (plants/sea/sand) the endcoder was braking down and outputing a blury pixelated mesh (in some areas of the frame). This is  unacceptable for professional work! After realizing we had this issue, we changed the footage acquisition to 1080p thinking that the 60 Mbit/s would do more justice to 1/4 of the resolution. To our surprise, we found out that the bitrate for 1080p/25fps video was just 25 Mbit/s!!!

Although this was not what we hoped for, since 25 Mbit/s for 1080p is more than 60 Mbit/s for 4K we shot the rest of the project in 1080p. We didn't notice any encoding failures in 1080p but even in that resolution we could see that the footage was in desperate need for more bitrate budget. The macroblocking motion vectors especialy, could use some more precision.

So, 4K resolution video for the Phantom 3 Professional is totaly dependent on the subject in front of the camera lens. It might work or it might NOT work. It should work ALL the time.