One motor stopped
1829 12 2014-12-23
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
porschett
lvl.2

United States

On a take-off, the Phantom 2 tipped and the props hit the grass, no biggie, I thought. On the next power up, I got a small amount of smoke out of the one leg. The prop tried to turn, then stopped. Any ideas if this is the motor only or could the board have gone too?

It's only a month old, so would it be covered or is it best just to fix myself.? Best place to buy the part (s)?

Thanks in advance
2014-12-23
Use props
rod
lvl.4

New Zealand

Sorry to hear that. I believe replacement motors are available.  This event is the very reason I keep my prop guards on.  I have had several tips with blades running and the guards save this issue. I have flown a lot and there is a lot of nonsense talked about prop guards being for beginners-I am a pro videographer and I prefer protecting my investment and protecting anyone that my bird might fly into.
2014-12-23
Use props
gil
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1379308 ft
United States

Relatively easy to replace depending on your skill set -- how's your soldering?  Review a few videos on YouTube about replacing Phantom motor and ESC.  Cost would be about $40 for both.

Best place?  Depends where you live, ideally a corner hobby store that carries DJI stuff.  Amazon, eBay or bazillions of online stores if nothing local.  Here's one.
2014-12-23
Use props
hcoduarte
lvl.1

Portugal

rod@voxvideopro Posted at 2014-12-24 06:18
Sorry to hear that. I believe replacement motors are available.  This event is the very reason I kee ...

@rod what kind of case/backpack do you use with the props on. I like the props but one can't always be putting them on and removing them
2014-12-23
Use props
tonyphantom147
lvl.3

United Kingdom

If the board has gone the other motors want spin up. Strange a minor flip burnt out the motor.
2014-12-23
Use props
rod
lvl.4

New Zealand

hcoduarte Posted at 2014-12-24 06:32