Altitude
12897 22 2014-12-25
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
sirweston1
lvl.1

United States

I just got my Phantom2 Vision+.  It is a blast.  I'm still learning how to fly it.  I feel I'm getting ok at flying it by watching it.  As for FPV, even on my Samsung S5 with the DJI smartphone hood, it is hard to read the screen in full sunlight.  That is frustrating because I find that the Vision+ camera is not great in low light (sunrise or sunset).

I have a million questions.  But I will limit this post to one primary question.

How high can I get (I mean my drone)?  It seems to stop me out at 400 feet.  Is that normal?

I live on the base of South Mountain Park, AZ which is the largest urban park in the US.  So if my limit is 400 feet, if I spend the day and climb to the top of South Mountain, can my drone then climb another 400 feet above the peak?  And can I fly all the way back down to near elevation at my house and then back up to the peak?

I appreciate any and all responses

Wes

2014-12-25
Use props
Gerry1124
lvl.4

United States

The 400 foot limit is set in your setup and means 400 feet above your takeoff point.
2014-12-25
Use props
Dragonrider
lvl.2

United States

400 feet is a preprogrammed level for height as that is mandated by the FAA.  Can it go higher, yes.  How high can it go, higher than you might think but there are modifications you must do.  How do you change the height limit setting, read the manual, the answer is there.  It's easy peasy but think twice about it.  Read the manual......watch every youtube video you can find (search DJI Phantom and go from there.....Then take your time and learn to fly slowly and correctly so you know what to do when something goes wrong.

Have fun flying....shoot and share.....do it again!

Merry Christmas!
2014-12-25
Use props
droneflyers.com
lvl.4
Flight distance : 60709 ft
  • >>>
United States