Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Propeller guards
3135 7 2014-12-27
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Gitersonke
New

United States

I am new to drones pretty much all together.  I have been flying a nano qx for a couple weeks and am interested in buying an inspire.  I'm curious what the feelings about blade/ propeller guards is? Does anyone hate them, love them, want to build aftermarket ones for the inspire.  Just from an outside perspective the idea of having the guards on any drone makes it a lot less intimidating.  I know if it tips over during a landing it would save you buying a new set of proppelers.   I have been imagining building some for myself for the inspire.
What do you guys think?  
Thanks for your input.
Cheers.
2014-12-27
Use props
skillet
lvl.2
Flight distance : 468258 ft
South Africa

I am very sure that there are already a few guys with 3D printers that is experimenting with the idea... Some money to be made there. I am all for adding safety and equipment protection.
2014-12-27
Use props
rbendjebar
lvl.4
Flight distance : 3170190 ft
  • >>>
United States

Flying a nano qx and an Inspire 1 are orders of magnitude different. The Inspire is not a starter drone, and is going to be very unforgiving of noob mistakes. Consider perhaps getting more experience with an intermediate drone like the Phantom 2 or Vision. There are so many things to learn in flying the drone and managing the flight path that there is very little room for error when trying to take photos or video while in flight.
The Inspire will not be made much safer by adding prop guards, if that is even physically possible. It is still a 6 kilo object that can cause great injury in inexperienced hands. Even if no person is nearby, a crash or unintended collision or contact with the ground or obstacles will likely result in expensive damage to the drone, the gimbal or the camera.
2014-12-27
Use props
ultraturtle
lvl.2