Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Poor quality still images. Is this Normal?
2381 12 2015-12-21
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Iron Oak
lvl.1

United States

I am a professional photographer and recently had a chance to try out a Phantom 3 Pro. I was amazed out how easy these were to operate and I really enjoyed the well thought out interface. I enjoyed it so much that I am now considering one for myself or possible the Inspire 1.

My question is this. The above photo is really poor quality. The settings were completely fine for proper exposure but there is a lot of ghosting, moire and chromatic aberration in the image. Especially the trees. I have tried to correct this as much as possible in post but it seems unexceptable.
It was still while I took the photo. (meaning not moving while in flight). The shutter was high enough where it should not of caused a motion blur effect. I have also experienced this in other photos taked with this drone on seperate days.

I want to know if this is the norm for the Phantom 3 Pro or if there is possible something wrong with the camera on this particular drone?

I am use to full frame cameras and I understand this wont be the same quality but I at the very least expect the same as a GoPro or my iphone.

Eagerly awaiting your feedback.

2015-12-21
Use props
DJI-Amy
DJI team

Hong Kong

Hi, what is your camera setting? Could you please upload the original files in the micro SD card?
2015-12-21
Use props
Geebax
Captain
Australia

The sensor in the P3 Pro camera is the same as used in the GoPro H4, however in comparative tests, the H4 had an edge over the P3. There have been issues with cameras giving poor performance as delivered, so I would suggest you try out another one before making a decision. However, in defence of the P3 Pro, if you want the best results, you should have available a selection of ND filters and also an IR cut filter.
2015-12-22
Use props
Iron Oak