Watched too many instructional videos :(
1151 10 2015-12-23
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
boatname
New

United Kingdom

Hi everyone. Newbie here. My 3 Standard is arriving tomorrow for Xmas day and so I’ve been looking at some really great instructional YouTube videos to get a head start.

Could you please clear a bit of confusion for me?

I am sure that I saw a video that said the controller didn’t use my phones wifi/gps … it praised the fact that there was just a very short lead connecting them and some smart technology “talked to Glosnas — Russian satellites????” improving accuracy. But then I saw one that said it did.

I guess I’ll get an answer when I open the box but I’m confused as to why I think I have seen two different reports.

More import is compass calibration … that’s got me really baffled.

1.Do they mean compass or gps?

2.What do they mean by “if you change location?”

Of course I understand that if you set it up at home then travel say 100 miles, like any gps device it needs to relocate the satellites but what if you’ve only moved 5 miles? Or 2 … or 1?

Do you have to rotate it 360 degrees every time you move … er, how far?

Many thanks in advance.

2015-12-23
Use props
DJI-Ken
DJI team
Flight distance : 1515312 ft
  • >>>
United States

Congrats of you new P3 Standard,
When they say compass calibration, it's calibrating the compass in the Phantom. When you do that, make sure no metal is around, take your phone and keys out of your pocket. Have the R/C and your phone/tablet on the ground away from you and the Phantom when doing the calibration.
BUT before that, you need to do an IMU calibration and preferably a COLD one, then do a gimbal calibration as well.