Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Flyaway after landing
3661 29 2014-12-29
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
elexwiz
New

United States

I've had my P2V+ for 4 days now. THANK YOU SANTA! I've been reading the flyaway posts which all descirbe eratic "out of control" behavior in the air. I'm not a novice to model aviation, having flown planes and heli's since 1998. However this is my first REAL flying camera. My very first flight was uneventful. I was getting used to the flight characteristics of this bird the old fashioned way. The throttle snapping back to center took some getting used too. After flying around for 10 minutes or so I brought her in for a landing. She sat there, rotors spinning, while I messed around with the camera via my phone. Then I heard the motors start to sporadically rev up. I looked at the bird just and she jumped about two feet into the air then started to jostle around. I tried taking control but she ended up flying off and hitting one of my patio chairs. No damage was done. I picked her up, turned everything off, and reset. I was able to recreate the circumstances every time. Fly around for a while, land, leave the rotors spinning, and wait for it to jump up. Sure enough, she jumps, every time. The only caveat to this is when starting the rotors, either immediately after a shut down or the first flight of the day, she will sit there spinning at idle until the cows come home. Now I power down the rotors every time I land, period.
Pre flight included a compass calibration in the middle of my large back yard (I did two in succession to make sure I read the lights properly. It would be nice if there were some indication after the nose-down rotation that it's good. There's only an indication if it were bad), correct startup and GPS lock (8 sats) light sequence, home lock fast blinks, etc.