Difference in motors?
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
dmcman73
lvl.1

United States

Hi all,

I'm new to the DJI products and I had a question:

I purchased a Phantom 3 Pro and when I got it home, I found out it was defective out of the box. On power up it would just keep beeping and no lights would come on. The motors on that defective unit were the ones that came with the plastic clamp tool. I exchanged the drone where I purchased it the same day and on the second unit, the motors were a little different and these came with the metal spanner wrench.

My question is, is there a difference between the motors (the one that comes with the plastic clamp tool VS. the one that comes with the metal spanner wrench)? I just want to make sure that DJI didn't switch to the newer model motors because the original ones were having issues.

Thanks.
2016-1-16
Use props
Northofthe49th
lvl.4

Canada

There are several threads on new motors and new shells, check it out, just search "new motor" in the search tab and in short, they did not change for not good reason!
2016-1-16
Use props
dmcman73
lvl.1

United States

Northofthe49th Posted at 2016-1-16 14:40
There are several threads on new motors and new shells, check it out, just search "new motor" in the ...

Thanks, I checked them out. So what you are saying is that the older motors are better than the newer ones despite the newer ones having "7%" more efficiency?
2016-1-16
Use props
Northofthe49th
lvl.4

Canada

You will have to let DJI comment, if they dare! I doubt they will out themselves to indicate they made the changes due to known defects in either the manufacturing or workmanship no more than they outed themselves on the recent GeoFence fiasco..They chalk it up to a server glitch..Frankly, unless their server is running on AI and ther Server was on PMS (Phantom Mad Syndrome), it was a human caused condition, that simple.

2016-1-16
Use props
dmcman73
lvl.1

United States