HD filter on the Standard?
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
retired dog
lvl.2

United States

I was wondering if anyone knows how to install a ND filter  on the camera that comes on the Standard? Thats the only thing thats keeping me from getting the Standard instead of the Advanced one. Thanks
2016-1-19
Use props
davidlwoodall
lvl.2

United States

http://www.amazon.com/PolarPro-P ... rs+Phantom+Standard
Should slide over your camera lens.

Someone mentioned the PGY filters yesterday as well. Less expensive, but I have no experience with them myself:
https://www.google.com/search?nu ... 1061461114700028647

2016-1-19
Use props
aopisa
lvl.4
Flight distance : 430686 ft
United States

There are many more reasons to spend the few extra $$ to get the Advanced that are not just the filters. I know because I upgraded after only owning the Standard for a few weeks.

The Standard range can vary from OK to disappointing. The Advanced range is amazing allowing you to get to hard to reach places without losing signal.

If you are really into the photography aspect then the Advanced has other advantages. First, there is the filter aspect. The slip over plastic film filters are a pain to use and easily smudge/scratch. Many of the glass fit over filter for the Standard seem like they are too heavy and may stress the gimbal. Remember you are not replacing the lens cover like on the Advanced, but adding weight by putting another piece on the lens. Having the camera controls on the remote make for easy adjustments rather than using primarily the touch screen on the app.

The remote on the Standard is kind of lightweight. If you plan on using an iPad you will need to add a flimsy third party clamp or modify the remote which would probably void your warranty. Look at the replacement cost for the remotes, $139 for the Standard and $590 for the Advanced/Pro.

So please think hard and review again before ordering.

2016-1-19
Use props
dacofty
lvl.4