Weak Controller Signal
17916 19 2016-1-24
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Matticus
lvl.1

United States

Hey everyone, I finally own a DJI Phantom 3! Ive been flying for about 2 months now and decided its time to upgrade. Ive been flying my P3S for about 2 weeks now and absolutely love the quality of this quad copter.

The only issue im running into is im getting Weak Controller Signal anywhere from 110 meters to 200 meters. I will not go any further once it says that because im worried about losing it.
To test it out I went into an open park since I live in the Rocky Mountains I figured it could be trees even tho Im in the open. I sent it directly above me and same thing happens, It will not go past 200 meters high without getting a weak controller signal. Now my Cell phone service is not great, I mean i get 1 bar up here. Is that whats causing this? Do I need full cell phone coverage in order to send my Phantom past 200 meters with a strong signal? Ive downloaded pretty much the entire state of Colorado to my offline maps on google maps to try and help and this morning It was the same thing. I will get talking to anywhere between 9-13 satellites so I know it has a strong connection with those. Im just confused and worried and do not want to lose my investment this early.

Anyone have some tips or something im just missing since im a n00b. I always calibrate the compass before every flight, I always make sure I have at least 6 stateliest and a strong signal before takeoff.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

2016-1-24
Use props
LeonidAbashidze
lvl.1
Flight distance : 669 ft
Georgia

Same Problem with Phantom 3 Standard, when i lifted it 70-80 meters it stars blinking WEAK SIGNAL ! ...

Some say it's firmware's problem i think it's antenna's problem ...
2016-1-24
Use props
Matticus
lvl.1

United States