Suggest: backpack for skiing and carry-on luggage
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
SpaceBass
lvl.2
United States

Headed out to do some back country (read: extreme) skiing and ski-hiking soon. I'd love to take my P3A with me. I'd also love whatever I buy to double, at least for this trip, as my carry-on luggage for the trip. In addition to the drone, I'd be carrying:
* iPad Pro
* iPad Air 2 (for the drone)
* various charges and cables, earphones, etc
* a book or two
*water bottle

I think portability and wearability are pretty important. I've seen some soft packs that look well padded, but also large and cumbersome. When you are getting on and off a lift (or plane for that matter) you have to swing bags around, tuck them into places, etc.

Any suggestions?

I totally accept that no case is bombproof and this carries the risk of falling and tumbling and breaking my done or bones... I've been accepting that risk for 35+ years

2016-2-16
Use props
leorvasquez
lvl.2
United States

I have the Phantom 3 hardshell backpack from DJI and I like it. I have my Phantom 3 Advanced with 3 batteries, the remote controller, extra props, landing gear, and the iPad mini 3,  Not much room for anything else that I am starting to accumulate, such as filters, charging hub and its power cable, monitor hood, extra mini SD cards, gimbal guard, and the remote controller strap. I just need one more good backpack or bag to carry the extras. I don't know if I should get a hardshell carrying case or a conventional backpack.
2016-2-16
Use props
DJI-Ken
DJI team
Flight distance : 1515312 ft
  • >>>
United States

The hardshell backpack is the best for what you want to do. The Pro and Air2 may fit between the top cover and the foam. But if not, during the day just leave the Pro where your staying if you can.
You can strap a water container to the straps, a book don't know about.
2016-2-16
Use props
mike.wildlight
lvl.4
Flight distance : 5623 ft
Australia