1792 7 2016-2-25
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Gary C
lvl.3
Flight distance : 1710938 ft
  • >>>
United States

I have been flying the DJI Phantoms for 3 years but never indoors. An International Company has approached me to shoot several indoor functions in large ballrooms all of the State of Florida. This is an International Charity Group, so no money is exchanged, so it's really a great cause and it will be a fun, new project for me.

• I am really stumped based on posts in the forum...do I fly in atti mode or P mode?
  • What are some of the pitfalls besides running into something?
  • Do experienced indoor pilots fly with prop guards or not?
  • The lighting is incandescent and magnesium bulbs, so what about settings for video and photos?
  • Filters for indoor flying?

I'd really appreciate all or any comments, tips or ideas.

Many thanks everyone!
2016-2-25
Use props
microcyb
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1095955 ft
United States

If you have a solid GPS signal, then you should be fine, else you will need to have the skills to fly indoors manually.
Good Luck.
2016-2-25
Use props
ryan209
lvl.3

United States

I don't have the answers to these questions but I am curious to see the responses!!  I've only flown indoors a couple times very briefly and the two things I would say could be pitfalls, would be they are seriously noisy when indoors.   Also they move wayyyyy more air then the little hobby quads I had flown inside previously, which depending on proximity and weight of surrounding items could cause things to blow around a bit.   

Good Luck!!
2016-2-25
Use props
Dr. Acula
lvl.2

If you're going to fly in P-mode, GPS will likely be spotty, so be sure VPS (Vision Positioning System) is enabled.  But  I would read up on the Vision Positioning System section of the manual, there are a lot of caveats.