NOOB Pre-Flight
666 6 2016-3-16
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
CitizenKane
lvl.2

United States

Hi All,

Many moons ago I was an RC plane builder and flier.   Many, many moons ago..  When people just half a generation older than me  had RC planes with tube radios.  Yep, they really did.  Nice and heavy,  but well built.

Anyhow, just ordered our first quad-copter.  We  bought some $100 units at the local electronics stores and they were so  impossible to try to fly for me and my daughter that I decided to return  them and take the plunge into a P4.  

While eagerly waiting for our P4 (order 001163849998 in case DJI wishes to update me   )  I have been browsing all the forums with deep interest and a little  anxiety.  These are complex beasts and crashes will no doubt be  expensive.  So are there any pre-flight settings on the RC I should set  up so that we have have a reasonable VTOL and not turn it into a missile  into a tree 3.1 miles away?  

I see there is some feature like  a geofence that can limit it's range from the RC or the Take-off point  (which one, by the way?).  Can that be set arbitrarily low like 10m or  something?  I also read there is a 'beginner' setting but it seems there  are other settings that could be on or off that degrade beginner safety  or alter it's performance settings.  Just curious if any of you have a  patient step-by-step uber-beginners guide so it doesn't tweak into a 45  degree angle and barrel into a tree at 45mph in front of my daughter's  eyes.  

Best,
Mark
2016-3-16
Use props
Khsalum83
lvl.2
Flight distance : 3862808 ft