Problem on startup
1245 17 2016-3-21
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
jomoore0621
lvl.1

United States

I am having problems getting the drone to initiate take off.  After compass calibration and waiting on the GPS signal, I then pull down on the joysticks and get 3 quick red lights and then back to green.  The problem is the rotors won't turn.  Any ideas?  I'm running android as the OS.

John
2016-3-21
Use props
CapitAn
lvl.4
  • >>>
Canada

Where did you do the compass calibration, and what are the values?
The gyro value should be around zero, accel around 1, and compass around 1500.
ls this a new Phantom, and if so did you do an IMU calibration also?
2016-3-21
Use props
jomoore0621
lvl.1

United States

CapitAn Posted at 2016-3-21 09:47
Where did you do the compass calibration, and what are the values?
The gyro value should be around z ...

I'm new to this.  We just followed the start guide instructions and now when we pull the joysticks down to start it quickly flashes 3 red lights and won't turn the rotors.  As soon as I let go, it goes back to flashing green lights and appears ready for takeoff.
2016-3-21
Use props
CapitAn
lvl.4
  • >>>
Canada

Gotcha.
The start-up pages included with the drone don't give a lot of info. There is a full manual you can download from the DJI site that will give you all the steps you need to take to get it in the air safely.
There are some great step-by-step DJI tutorials here too:

http://forum.dji.com/forum.php?m ... mp;page=1#pid251592

Good luck!
2016-3-21
Use props
Northofthe49th
lvl.4

Canada

problem sounds like NPES...New Pilot Error Syndrome....
Problem is that even if you got it started, how do you land and turn it off safely...That is an even bigger issue if you do not already know how to so PLEASE...Do a bit of reading & watching....

Must read manuals and watch videos or Drone will go bye bye if you can ever figure out how to get it to go....