Phantom 4 sudden fly away and crash!
1234Next >
38607 124 2016-3-23
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
mattgregory1981
New

I had my phantom 4 sitting in a hover just above the ground right after take off.  I turned for 2 seconds to ask my 2 year old to step back just a little bit.  With hands no where near the controls or iPad my P4 suddenly took off up and hard right and into a tree.  Has anyone else had anything like this happen?  What does one do in a situation like this?  It broke a propeller in the tree and hit the ground hard bending 2 of the arms and now states it won't recognize the sd card.  I am a professional aerial photographer and have tons of experience flying drones.  I've never seen anything like this.  
2016-3-23
Use props
wheezy
lvl.2
Flight distance : 86755 ft
United States

First: upload the flight record to http://healthydrones.com/main?a=upload
2016-3-23
Use props
jbrahim
lvl.1

Canada

Hello Matt,

Yes, I got my phantom 4 on March 18th, 2016 and i look it for a short flight that same day with no problems.

When i got back home, i updated the firmware as suggested and on the next day i went again to fly.

I was in a clear place and I calibrated the aircraft as suggested until i got safe to Fly GPS.

I flew about 5 metres high and i let the aircraft hover for about 5 seconds. the drone start to go left and right and suddenly was go so fast without me doing anything with the controller. I tried to get it back but it was impossible and i hit go home, but that did not do anything so i watched my brand new phantom 4 going crazy fast till it crashed on the rocks.

I have DJI care and i sent it back to them , i have made it clear that i need a brand new replacement and not just a repaired aircraft. and also i made it to the agents clear that i do not want to use my DJI care for this case.

This is a big faulty thing with DJI phantom 4 and the firmware.