o(^-^)o
jmboto
lvl.4
Flight distance : 6781407 ft
  • >>>
Portugal

Zenmuse X5R - Review

By: J. Boto

I am a hobbyist and an amateur videographer and was thrilled to try this camera that can shoot lossless 4K Raw footage.

The Zenmuse X5R, as the X5, is built around 16MP Four Thirds sensors and is compatible with a handful of small, wide Micro Four Thirds lenses like the Olympus Zuiko 12 mm F 2.0, 17 mm  F 1.7, 25 mm and 45 mm, the DJI and Panasonic Lumix 15 mm F 1.7 ASPH lens and can be flown on the company's Inspire 1 drones.

The camera feature an integrated 3-axis gimbals to produce smooth, stabilized video and stills capture.

Focus and aperture can be controlled remotely by the DJI GO app in IOS or Android OS.

Focus and aperture can also be controlled with the DJI wireless follow focus connect to the rc with a cm bus cable.

The X5R, besides the micro SD card, includes a 512GB SSD that allows it to shoot DNG Raw footage at an average bitrate of 1.7 Gbps to a maximum of 2.4 Gbps.

Movies are recorded in both medias and photos are recorded only on the SD card.

At the maximum RAW video resolution (4k – 4096 x 2160) the SSD can record about 40 mm of high definition video.

The X5R, as the X5, boast an ISO range of 100-25,600 and several color modes including a D-Log mode for better color grading if you decide to record in Prores mode to the SD card.

I have tried the X5R with all the lenses above cited (with exception of the Oly 17 mm).

Also tried several grade of B+W ND filters from 0,6 to 1,8.

In all Raw 4 K resolution and even in Prores (SD card) image quality is astonishing.

Detail, sharpness, color rendition, contrast are overwhelming and breathtaking.

At more than 60 meters distance, with a 12 mm lens, you can see the sand rolling on a quarry mowing machine and the black exhaust smoke from the trucks.

Ocean and landscape colors are perfect and very appealing.