Chinese gimbal on FC40
2149 10 2015-1-11
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
RevoMikey
lvl.2
United Kingdom

Hi Guys

I hope you can help, i may be wrong as i am new to flight but after some flying with the fc40 i realised quickly that i needed a gimbal for smoother flight footage.

I ordered a chinese bangood jobbie that many of you are using and its working well, apart from 2 small irritations:

Firstly, the pitch control on the back of the tx, i kind of thought that different angles would make the gimbal move and stop corresponding with the levers position, what mine actially does is full tilt up and down and the potentiometer on the back of the tx merely controls speed, so basically if i move it slightly it will move to full down or up slowly, if i move the pot further it merely increases speed. I thought it would center the gimbal at level position on the lever and then move and stop as far as i push the lever, not just fast and slow. have i got this right?

Secondly, when the motor hits the the plug on severe tilt it freaks out and starts knocking around until the quad is level again, perhaps i am putting it to the extremes as i havent flown with it yet, this is only workshop testing.

Please help me gimbal guru's!!

Thanks

Mike

2015-1-11
Use props
Rodimus Prime
lvl.2

China

The pitch control is not position based, but gain (speed) based. For the second part, you might want to check out the Gimbal Tab of the Assistant software.
2015-1-12
Use props
RevoMikey
lvl.2
United Kingdom

Thanks Rodimus that explains the pitch issue. So how do you guys know where level is when flying? Also, if the gimbal is pointing up or down are the motors straining until you put the lever back at centre?
2015-1-12
Use props
Rodimus Prime
lvl.2

China

RevoMikey Posted at 2015-1-13 00:15
Thanks Rodimus that explains the pitch issue. So how do you guys know where level is when flying? Al ...