Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Vortex Ring State and Settling with Power
2136 4 2015-1-11
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
rmaxwell
lvl.4
Flight distance : 698661 ft
  • >>>
Canada

Hi Folks,

I hold a commercial pilots license in both the U.S. and Canada for Airplanes, Floatplanes, Gliders, and Hot air balloons.  I have been a flight instructor in airplanes and gliders.  I have flown radio controlled airplanes since 1961 and R/C helicopters since 2009.  I have flown airplanes, gliders, R/C airplanes, and camera carrying multi-rotors in national commercials and feature length movies.

I have four helicopters and three multi-rotors and will take delivery of my Inspire One next week.

I have read a number of posts about the pilots on this forum stating that their quadcopter suddenly dropped out of control.  They immediately blamed DJI and the machine.  I was not there, so maybe they are right.  However, I would like to share some experience from over 3,000 hours of flying full scale and R/C aircraft.

When you are hovering there is a column of air beneath your multi rotor or helicopter that is descending.  (This is a simplified explanation.  It is more complicated that this.)  If you descend rapidly into this falling column of air you can experience an even faster rate of descent and when you add power you cannot recover.  To get out of this you much move forward, backward, or sideways.  This will get into clear air and stop the descent.  If there is a wind and the GPS is holding your position with respect to the ground, this column can be at an angle downwind.  Google these topics and you will find much more information.

My suggestions:

1.  Buy a less expensive quadcopter than the Inspire One to learn about how to manually fly one of these machines.

2.  Join a club where there are people that have a lot of experience and can teach you how to fly this machine.