P4 for search & rescue? Anyone using it?
615 4 2016-4-2
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
medicdanderson
lvl.2

United States

Just wondering if anyone has used or has intentions of using the P4 for search purposes. I bought mine simply for recreational use (though I am a paramedic in Wisconsin) but am now thinking it might not be a bad idea to bring it around for our calls involving searching around areas such as the banks of rivers, open fields, etc. I know a lot of departments in our area are using drone technology for investigative purposes - our local detective used a P3P for aerial photography following a structure fire - as well as criminal investigation, but I also understand you need a warrant, licensed pilot, and whatever else the FAA requires.

I think this technology has a huge place in public safety - it's just trying to get everyone educated, especially the public.
2016-4-2
Use props
madaerial
lvl.2
Flight distance : 512251 ft
United States

I live and work in Madison, WI. I heard a story from an officer here about the Fire Department assisting in a "manhunt" search with their quad once. Theirs has an infrared camera (it was super effective) and could even be used at night. I think the case you would want to make to your employer is that it could help you determine if a scene is safe for you to render assistance by getting a more complete view of situations. I don't have a PI license, but have thought about getting one (I work in Public Safety for the City and also the school district). I'd think PI's would love them. I just want to make pretty videos really, but definitely see your point and a lot of the officers I have talked to about mine have expressed interest. A couple of cops have said they think there should be one in every squad. But man, I'd hate to see the public outcry if police started flying these routinely.
2016-4-2
Use props
nigelw
Second Officer
Flight distance : 518084 ft
United Kingdom