P4 Distance/Remote range
1187 12 2016-4-8
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Heathman
lvl.1

Hi!

I'm still new to P4 ownerwship, and am definitely still learning, so please bear with me.  I was out flying my P4 this afternoon downtown at the San Diego embarcadero (had a great time too!) but started receving a distance warning message on the remote when the drone got about 760 feet away. The picture attached, from the flight log, shows it's approximate location when I received the warning.

Isn't it supposed to go a bit farther before loosing comm? :-/

Thanks for your time!
Heath

SanDiego

SanDiego

embarcadero

embarcadero
2016-4-8
Use props
dirtdroner
lvl.4
Flight distance : 3633799 ft
United States

I can get about 3000' before mine gives up and that's with some trees. I don't think I'll ever see anywhere close to the advertised range but 760 is another story. Usually when someone complains about range here they are beat up a little and told to read/watch the antenna pointing instructions. Rabbit ears straight up, perpendicular to the drone and always facing towards it (never turn your back on a P4).
2016-4-8
Use props
Heathman
lvl.1

dirtdroner Posted at 2016-4-9 07:41
I can get about 3000' before mine gives up and that's with some trees. I don't think I'll ever see a ...

Thanks dirtdroner. Believe me, I was expecting to get beat up a little by posting that question. ha! I've read the book, had the antennae positioned properly, was facing the P4, etc. :-/  I'll keep playing with it and will try other locations.  Again, thanks for the post. Have a great weekend!
2016-4-8
Use props
CodyHumphrey92
lvl.1

United States

All depends on how much interference at your location. I got over 2 miles away the other day and still had very good link, only turned around because of battery
2016-4-8
Use props
pgrover516
Banned

United States

Tip: the author has been banned or deleted automatically shield
2016-4-8
Use props
DJI-Paladin
Administrator