Phantom 4 Obstacle Sensors not working - settings wrong?
9034 11 2016-4-22
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
trevorpdx
New

I am very new with this, but I had a Phantom 3 Standard and never had troubles controlling / landing it. Perhaps this was not a good idea to test this, and it may be my fault, but upon coming in for a landing on one of my first sessions with the Phantom 4, it wound up coming close to a tree, and I figured it would avoid it or simply stop. It did neither of these things. Is there a setting I'm missing..? It seems like it should do this by default, and again it may be my fault for not testing it in a safer environment. The tree wasn't huge, probably about 20 ft tall, but the aircraft went right into it and crashed onto the ground, motors still going. Is it possible the sensors are defective? I haven't taken it back out to test it in a safer environment, such as a wall that I can stand right next to, etc. I'm just wondering if anyone else has had this problem or if there's a chance the sensors are defective, because I as in shock when it hit the tree and struggled to the ground. Any input is much appreciated.
2016-4-22
Use props
treeboyy
lvl.3
Flight distance : 604747 ft
United States

If you enter the DJI GO app and select the General settings menu (top right) then select the Visual Navigation Settings (second one down between the quad and remote icons) and make sure the Turn on Forward Obstacle Sensing System is switched on.
2016-4-22
Use props
Geebax
Captain
Australia

Were you flying in Sport Mode at the time?
2016-4-22
Use props
DJI-Ken
DJI team
Flight distance : 1515312 ft
  • >>>
United States

Sorry about your crash.
There is an ON/OFF setting in the app. Also, if you got close to the tree and did not see the obstacle distance meter (red, yellow, green bars top of screen) then you had obstacle avoidance turned off.
And what mode were you in. Have you read the manual, the obstacle avoidance has limitations stated in the manual.