Help with reorienting phantom please
2184 20 2016-5-6
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
dpcam1
lvl.2

New Zealand

Hi there...I'm a newbie with my phantom and the other day I got myself into a bit of trouble during a flight. I had flown about 200 meters away from myself when I decided to return. Unfortunately,  I couldn't work out what direction the nose was pointing so I became quite disoriented.  My usual procedure is to point the rear of the craft towards me and then make the return in reverse. Is there a way to quickly determine the direction the nose is pointing in ?
2016-5-6
Use props
TK-421
Banned

United States

Tip: the author has been banned or deleted automatically shield
2016-5-6
Use props
calls4u2
lvl.4
Flight distance : 211604 ft
United Kingdom

The map at the bottom left on your screen, press it and it'll go full screen. The arrow points the direction the P4 is facing
Test it with rotors off indoors, once calibrated turn it around to face different directions, you'll see Pointing the nose towards your take off point and pushing forward will get the craft above you so you can see better
2016-5-6
Use props
labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

Play with the radar display and you'll see exactly how it does just what you wanted.
Or use the map display.
Or use Return to Home

Learning how RTH works is one of the most important things you can do if you want to bring your Phantom home every time.
2016-5-6
Use props
nigelw
Second Officer
Flight distance : 518084 ft
United Kingdom