Inspire 1 Initial Thoughts
3242 15 2015-1-18
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
InRenderSpire
lvl.1

United States

As a complete newbie to flying anything since paper airplanes in elementary school, I thought I would give my initial impressions to anyone one similar to me considering taking the plunge.

First, let's just get this out of the way:  This think is amazing!  Way more technology and machine than I am a pilot or videographer.

After working through all the fiddly bits of getting the apps downloaded, battery charged, firmware upgraded, the actual flying is pretty easy.  I just push the left stick forward and it lifts right off of the ground and hovers.

However, getting used to CONTROLLING this is much more difficult than I expected.  I am not a video gamer, so depth perception and translating what I want to make the copter do into the control is going to take a bit of practice.  

For all of you experienced DJI Phantom pilots, how long did it take until you either:

1.  Not have to hold your breath for the whole flight
   2.  Learn to hold your breath for 15 minutes

This thing flies much faster than most shots require.  The hardest thing is to SLOW down.

There are annoying gimbal jumps in every footage.  Suddenly, it just jerks to the left or right.  I am not panning left and right, so it is just doing it spontaneously.

Tilting the gimbal up and down is like watching a caffeine addict with the jitters... At least when I do it.  I would like to see (or to find it if it is already available) a way of easing into and out of gimbal movements.  I would like to see a similar mode for flight, too.

Speaking of gimbal movements, there appears to be a function in the app that will allow the pilot to use the bottom buttons to toggle from tilt to pan.  NO joy.  Doesn't work at all.

I would like the ability to assign the right dial to pan and be able to toggle between gimbal control and exposure control with the bottom buttons.