at my wits end please advise
878 10 2016-5-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Jakk
lvl.2

Hello all

Im having trouble with my video. If I shoot 1080p 60fps I get super super grainy images. Its not so bad in other settings but I just dont know what I am doing worng. I am flying with ND filters and trying to set up everything correctly (exposeure, shutter speed etc) I come from a stills photography back ground so I have a good understanding of camera I'm just new to video.

Its pretty demoralizing going out and shooting only to come back and have unusable footage.

cheers!
2016-5-28
Use props
RedHotPoker
Captain
Flight distance : 165105 ft
Canada

Try shooting in Auto and notice where the settings are. Obviously, some trial and error in Manual are your best options. Depending on your location, and time of day or year, light brightness and shadow are different.
Thankfully we are dealing in a digital format, so it's easy to take plenty of video and delete the stuff unusable, keeping only those rare beautiful scenes that we capture and wish to save and share.

There are also plenty of helpful videos on YouTube that can give you great basic general tutorials, and instruction.

But you need to experiment plenty and find those settings and subjects, of what are attractive to your eyes.
Keep a pocket sized notebook handy. . . And don't be afraid to make notes in your phantom journal.
Particularly of your many camera adjustments/settings, date & time of day, so on & so forth. Rinse and repeat often. . . Ha
Practice makes perfect. The parameters on these tiny 4K cameras is really pretty basic. So not much to fiddle with.
Unlike my Nikon D800 which is jam packed with rich features and variable controls, multi switches and numerous ins and outs.
All of the bells and whistles, and then some... Hahaha
Don't be frustrated, we love this hobby and our glorious phantoms when they are working correctly.
Yeah, but they are only ever tools to and end...

RedHotPoker