Help with flickering, lack of smoothness and artifacts in P4 video!
959 5 2016-6-7
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
scottrhoyt
lvl.1

United States

I am a new drone pilot and just bought a P4 last week. This weekend I took it out for a spin to get some footage of the coastline. My video settings were 4k 30 FPS AWB AE. I am using the stock 16GB SD card.
I noticed quite a bit of stuttering, flickering, and compression artifacts in the resulting video. The flickering seems to be related to situations where there is a large range of luminosity. Perhaps the auto exposure is not stepping smoothly? The compression artifacts are in situations with fast motion and/or lots of detail. I can't tell if the stuttering is a real issue or a percieved effect of the flickering. Perhaps it could be my computer as well, but I'm watching this on a iMac 5k so I'd think it would be up to the challenge. Lastly, I've noticed that with rapid yawing, the horizon becomes unlevel. Straight and level flight seems to slowly restore the horizon to being level. Any help on diagnosing and correcting these problems would be appreciated!

Firstly, I just want to make sure that my unit is not defective. Secondly, I'd love to know what steps I could take to produce cleaner footage. I know an ND filter with a set shutter speed might help, but that's at least partially due to the motion blur that would result. Any suggestions on video settings would be appreciated.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B35p6JRIH_PGMHU5U2xTTDJ1emM

Scott

P.S. Video can be streamed from this link at a lower quality or downloaded as the raw file off of the P4. Size is ~ 2.3 GB
2016-6-7
Use props
Aardvark
Second Officer
Flight distance : 384432 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

Hi Scott