Goal Zero Sherpa 50 + Nomad 13... Field Charging my OSMO?
2451 10 2016-6-17
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
oliverthomasart
New

Hi guys. I'm not an electrical engineer by any stretch of the imagination.

We know the OSMO battery specs are roughly: 980mAh, 10.8Wh, 11.1v.

The recharger itself lists the input as: 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, and the output as 12.6 V, 1.2 A.

All french to me.

I am going on a 25 day, remote backpacking trip through the rockies in July. I want very badly to take the OSMO. No other camera gear, no slr gear, only the OSMO. I think the footage I can get with it will be personally epic.

The only system I can come up with that is feasible in terms of space and weight to field-charge batteries is the Goal Zero product, specifically the following:

Goal Zero Sherpa 50 (see specs tab) w/inverter
paired with the solar panel: Nomad 13

I just don't know enough about electrical engineering to do the math.

What I need to know is:

Will this system theoretically work,
and if so:
How many batteries should I take to maximize my charging/use time ratio? IE, no use taking 10 batteries if it takes 8 hours to charge each one.
2016-6-17
Use props
dopeytree
lvl.4
Flight distance : 6716467 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

If you add the SHERPA INVERTER (220V) you can then plug the normal charger in but you'd probably want to get one of these multi 4 battery chargers so you don't have to swap each OSMO battery out as it charges.
2016-6-18
Use props
oliverthomasart
New

dopeytree Posted at 2016-6-19 05:57
If you add the SHERPA INVERTER (220V) you can then plug the normal charger in but you'd probably wan ...

Is there a DJI endorced or already vetted multi-charger option?
I had considered it, but several amazon reviews talked about batteries going bad soon after trying out a multi-charger.
2016-6-18
Use props
bornish
lvl.3
Flight distance : 91447 ft
United Arab Emirates

Having 2 chargers with 4 batteries should provide continuous usage.