Wifi on or off?
1657 13 2016-6-29
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
bpsphotog
lvl.1
Flight distance : 28543 ft
United States

Hey all!  Just took the plunge into a P3 Pro, upgraded from a GoPro version of the P2.  Haven't had the chance to fly yet, have a question in the meantime.  It's a sacred rule to have all wifi turned off with any GoPro rigs (the Zenmuse gimbal being what I used with my P2), so what about the P3 pro?  I'm not concerned about the app features such as live streaming or maps, but is wifi needed for lightbridge?  Do I or should I turn wifi on or off?  If I want to use my cell for a hotspot, will that be alright?  I'm not one of those pilots who open the box with a partial battery and fly and wonder why my bird is in a lake.  I'm a very concious pilot who wants to get these minor details figured out before I fly my investment.  Thanks!

Ben
2016-6-29
Use props
labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

Wifi is not needed but won't make any difference
2016-6-29
Use props
bpsphotog
lvl.1
Flight distance : 28543 ft
United States

Awesome thanks!
2016-6-30
Use props
DJI-Ken
DJI team
Flight distance : 1515312 ft
  • >>>
United States

The p3 uses Lightbridge and is fine to leave your WiFi on.
If you are experiencing any lag or video issue then turning it off may help a tiny bit because of processing power and not signal interference.
I have always left my WiFi on, but if I ever did have a video issue then I would close all background running items including WiFi.
2016-6-30
Use props
RedHotPoker
Captain
Flight distance : 165105 ft
Canada

If we are being truthful and painfully honest. It might be smarter to suggest that you fly only  in Airplane mode, to stop the intrusive app components...
There are about 15 nosy websites that connect through the Go app. Using airplane mode defeats that. ;-)

RedHotPoker
2016-6-30
Use props
tytlyf
lvl.1
Flight distance : 72867 ft
United States