Crash and Burn
12Next >
18616 57 2015-1-24
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
peterbowers
lvl.1

United States

First of all, let me preface I am new to flying and prior to November 14 had no idea I would be purchasing a photographic drone. Then, on November 14, I saw the DJI Promo videos, first "Soar" then "Vintage". Vintage sealed the deal for me - I do private wine tours in Napa Valley and photography is one of my hobbies - - so I thought, how cool,  aerial photography of vineyards and a nice add on for my tours.
I ordered an Inspire 1 from Dronefly, the DJI dealer in SoCal on the spot - Round 1 of shipments!!
Like everyone else, I was dissapointed not to receive the Inspire 1 for the holidays, but I understood that it was only a small delay and I "cooled my props".

The Inspire 1 arrived mid January, and after unboxing I updated firmware (version 14?), downloaded the IOS app, and had the bird ready to fly. Rather than going out and flying right away, I waited until I had read and re read the manual, watched all the videos on the internet and then picked an open field at Skyline Park near my home to try out the Inspire. Using all the auto features - it flew like a dream!!

Next couple of outings were also very positive and fun. I flew it on an open field next to winery in Oakville and took some beautiful shots of the approach to the winery. All througout, as a member of this Forum I was keeping abreast of new developments and after a short trip out of town was ready to fly again.

Then the nightmare began. Before my next flight the Inspire 1 required the firmware upgrade to version 16. The upgrade went well, advanced IMU callibration was performed, IOS app was working fine > lets go flying. This time, I invited my wife to come along and see my prowess.