My new P3A is shredding my propellers :(
1779 15 2016-7-23
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Sgt_Throatpunch
lvl.2

United States

I am new to drones, and the P3A is my first. I've watched countless videos and I felt like a pro when I first got it. I used the "spin and tighten" method to put the propellers on, and it worked flawlessly for 3 of the propellers. The fourth one, however, would not freely spin like the rest, and needed some minor force to get it into position. I assumed it was some poor threading on the plastic threads of the propeller, so I opened up one of the spare black propellers to use. Same problem, it doesn't freely screw on with a spin and I have to apply minor force to get it on.

No big deal, I can get it on and have had 5 successful flights over the past week. Today when I tried to put that propeller on, it would not tighten. Upon inspection, one of the plastic threads has been ripped, causing it not to tighten. Obviously this concerned me, as I did not want that happening during a flight. Further inspection revealed that that motor's metal threads have a slight inconsistency at the top, and it not parallel with the thread beneath it. The other 3 look flawless.

threads.JPG prop.JPG

What are my options here? I've seen the motor replacements, and that looks a bit too intense for my comfort. The drone is only a week old, but I have no desire to send it back and wait months for a repair. The whole thing is really ruining my experience into this hobby.

2016-7-23
Use props
labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

The plastic threads in your props is what holds your Phantom in the air so you don't want to be chewing them out every time you put a prop on.
I'd start at the dealer you bought from and see if they will give you a replacement.
Otherwise, you shouldn't have to wait months for repair or replacement.
DJI is pretty good at service turnaround these days.

2016-7-23
Use props
endotherm