height difference between takeoff and landing
1267 14 2016-7-27
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
chrisz682002
lvl.1
Flight distance : 762418 ft
United States

Hi all, I am new with my p3p but noticed yesterday when landing  on the same spot my home point was set to I was 2 feet above ground and the dji go app showed I was -13 feet at that time...the 4' x 4' pc of wood did not move and I flew for about 12 min. is this normal? will a descrepency like this cause a problem with RTH function?
2016-7-27
Use props
labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

It won't make any difference to RTH because your Phantom will descend until it can't descend any more.
(btw why are you letting some blind programming land for you?)
It's not uncommon for the barometer altitude to vary slightly over time.
Doing an IMU calibration on a level surface may reduce the amount of error your Phantom shows.
2016-7-27
Use props
DJI-Ken
DJI team
Flight distance : 1515312 ft
  • >>>

Correct as above, an IMU calibration may help.
Also, when you power up the aircraft let it sit for a minute or two so it can acclimated to the pressure.
2016-7-27
Use props
chrisz682002
lvl.1
Flight distance : 762418 ft
United States

Thanks for the reply and info, I am not letting it land on its own, never have, just want to know if it has to on its own (because of low batt) it can and this error wont be a problem. Been flying flybarred helis for 10 years, this thing is to very easy to fly and land almost no skill needed.
2016-7-28
Use props
PhanFran
lvl.4
Flight distance : 4804163 ft
  • >>>

labroides@yahoo Posted at 2016-7-28 06:47
It won't make any difference to RTH because your Phantom will descend until it can't descend any mor ...

There is a lot more than just landing we let some 'blind programming' do while flying our AC's, so why not let it land ?