Purchased a new Phantom 4 - After 2 repairs, still have not flown!
1344 12 2016-8-11
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
dcplus14
New

United States

I really am looking for a mechanism to raise my issue higher than the chain it has gone through so far, else I will go the legal route.

A few months ago, yes months, I purchased a Brand new Phantom 4. Due to area restrictions and me being a new pilot, I had a challenge finding time to fly and finding a location to fly. Eventually I found a spot and powered up my drone and was thinking I would start my first flight.

Drone 1 Issue: Well, I had status errors reporting "GPS Disconnected" etc. etc. And never could get past that state. Because it took me a few weeks to attempt my first flight, I was outside the refund/return policy window.

I called up and explained the issue to DJI and after a while on the phone, they stated they would put a rush-repair on it and return it to me in 7 days to get my first flight.

10 days laters, I received a drone from them. I had noticed it was not the same drone as I sent back, new shell, new system part number than Drone 1 (via DJI app reporting), etc.

Drone 2.0 Issue(s): Well while the GPS issue was gone, there ended up being 2 major issues. First: This drone would not allow a micro SD card to latch at all. I tried various cards, and nothing would latch. That was my first trigger to realize they replaced the whole drone. Second, DJI Assistant 2 would recognize the drone but not the firmware. Thus there was no mechanism via the computer to check and/or update the firmware on this drone. I believe they sent me a developmental version with a '-' at the end. Also, all the 'new drone' stickers were added to the drone, and my FAA sticker was gone. Eventually they admitted to replacing the whole drone.