Issues with ND filter
3910 36 2016-8-13
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
scotto163
lvl.1

United Kingdom

I have the Ultimax 7pc filter kit for the phantom 4 and when I attach the ND2-400 variable filter to my p4's camera I find that the gimbal cannot support the weight. The camera will not lift right up to level and if I try to fly with it on the camera shakes really badly. I was about to buy the nd8, 16 and 32 filters but am worried the same thing will happen or that there is something wrong with my gimbal. I'm fairly new to all of this so any help would be greatly appreciated!

2016-8-13
Use props
matt18turbo
lvl.1
Flight distance : 75141 ft
United States

I have the DJI filters and have no trouble with the gimbal FWIW.
2016-8-13
Use props
MAD35
lvl.3
Flight distance : 4387201 ft
Australia

I have the ND4, 8, 16 filters and they are fine.
2016-8-13
Use props
Ladislav
lvl.2
Flight distance : 414964 ft
Germany

I am using Polarpro filters 4,8,16 and they are ok
2016-8-13
Use props
nigelbrinkmann
Second Officer
Flight distance : 586391 ft
Australia

Dose it play up with the standard dji lense?
2016-8-13
Use props
jamesazen
lvl.3
Flight distance : 15262 ft

plenty of info out there about the P4 gimbal not being able to take the weight, (9 grams)
One reviewer claimed it worked ok after unscrewing the DJI uv filter. removing the rubber gasket and lens, putting just the metal ring back on, then adding the variable ND filter..

Hope that works out for you, otherwise make sure the manufacturer recommends the product for the P4 before buying another

the polar pro and DJI lenses work fine, theyre just not variable
2016-8-13
Use props
Aardvark
First Officer
Flight distance : 384432 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

I thought the whole idea was to remove the existing UV filter and replace it with the ND filter. Leaving the existing filter ring on would only add unwanted weight.
2016-8-13
Use props
jamesazen
lvl.3
Flight distance : 15262 ft