First Flight Severe Crash Phantom 2 Scout Pro
1034 3 2016-8-29
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
spkhiker
New

United States

Hello all,

Had a interesting experience yesterday, I thought it might be worth the time to detail it and seek any input from those much more knowledgable and experienced than I with both the machine and the company.

Some background and briefly about me: I am a licensed prof engineer, private pilot w ~800 hours, experienced RC pilot, licensed A&P mechanic, and all around geek. I have significant experience with things like LION and LIPO batteries, mechanicals, RF, microprocessors, etc. but little experience with drones. Among other things I provide engineering support to a (very) large religeous based aggronomy centric farming group in the NW US that cultivates over 40,000 acres and currently owns 5 of the Phantom 2 Scout Pros (phantom 2 with range and other enhancements targeted at ag users). They brought me two of these units about a year ago which I succesfully assembled, calibrated, and flight tested which have been in service since.

What Happened: I was given a brand new never touched Phantom 2 Pro Scout that had been stored in it's original pelican case since new for about a year. I understand this unit was probably about 2 years old. I unpacked, assembled, charged and completed the compas and Futaba calibration routines as instructed by the (excellant Jason) CA support person. I flew the unit for about 8 minutes, battery levels and all looked normal on my screen, flight was as expected. Suddenly at a altitude of approx 30 feet the motors shut off and the drone dropped onto hard dirt doing significant damage (one beam bent, cam gimbal mount broken and seperated, 5g antenna conn torn off cb, at least one motor damaged, radios seperated, ribbon cable shredded, much more).