Quadcopter noob, couple of questions.
1004 12 2016-8-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
colnemac
lvl.2

Hi,
I'm a total noob to quadcopters, but used to fly planes a lot, and dabbled with nitro and electric heli's. Have my fixed wing bmfa B and have flown a few displays in my time, but that was around ten years ago now. Anyway, I digress... Always been interested in aerial photography but an old action cam taped to a ic plane in the early noughties just didn't cut it lol.
Wanting to add a different perspective to my bike films as ride a lot off road with the gopro, and fancy the idea of going to the third dimension so to speak.
Bought myself a Phantom 3 standard, and gingerly taken my first couple of flights. My first impressions are good, obviously it's so easy to do the basics with the gps system, however, it does seem to have an annoying glitch occuring, not in the video feed, a twitch, more often than not in the roll channel. Bear in mind i've only been through two battery charges so less than an hour in the air, but probably had around 10 or so glitches, all close to home. Not flying anywhere near power lines, cellular masts etc. I was prompted to update the firmware so did that, didn't take the half hour most folk say, more like just 5 or ten minutes.
Does the 'standard' version update the drone, remote, and battery all in one go, unlike the adv and pro version?
Calibrated compass before flight, walking around in a circle with the phantom over a fixed point, not twisting it around me while stood in in one place like some people do.
Can't say I've seen any glitches in the many videos I've watched? Still in beginner mode till I get used to using the app, and my flying fingers back.
Other question, I see that in the dji go app, people have the small map in the lower left corner. How do you get it so that this shows your satellite view, as because the phone is connected to the phantoms wifi, it can't also receive data from 4G signal?